What is it with time?

Was speaking with my pops yesterday. First off, this cat always has something to say that makes me shake my head in amazement or just totally off da wall amazement. But he wanted to gripe about da fam a lil’. Fussing about being on time.

Like most of us, this cat hates being late for anything. But i have known him to be a stickler when it comes to prep for NOT being late. Granted, this ol’ man is now living in a house full of WOMEN so you know he’s battlin’. (yeah i said it, WOMEN) But even tho he’s battlin’, he brought up a good point about time.

Let’s say you have to be at work each day at 8:30am. You end up gettin’ there at 8:29:59. Totally cuttin’ it close. Or better yet, you get there at 8:35. Now you KNOW you’re supposed to be there at 8:30 and have known this for a year. Why struggle to be there? Next scenario. . . .

Let’s say you have to be at work at 12pm each day. You end up getting there at 12, but that was because you RAN from da parking deck to get there on time. Why struggle? This is later in da day.

I wish I had an answer. I have been guilty of that behavior a time or so. Have you? You would think that if I had a schedule change to a later time after so many years of an earlier time, I would be rollin’ in there with no problems of being on time. Odd.

I complain that 24 hours in a day is never enuff. But what if we had 34 hours in a day? We would probably screw that up too, right?

Thanks for reading my blog. Feel free to subscribe with the subscription button as well as comment.

Peace unto all of you,

-RAP, II
@antpruitt

4 thoughts on “What is it with time?

  1. I agree with pops that you have to prepare to be on time. Cannot have a cavalier attitude about it or you will continually be late. I hate being late and hate people being late for stuff even more. I probably take it more serious than most.

    • Interesting. I can totally see you yellin at someone about their “foolishness” for being late. (lol!)

      thanks for commenting, ‘Nita-bug!

      -RAP, II

  2. I’m guilty of being late at times. It’s gotten worse as I get older and have spent time waiting on others. Thus, I’ve adopted their bad habits. I’m not proud of it, but it’s the truth. However, when I travel for work, I’m always early to the airport!! Go figure!! 😉

    • being that i’ve never flown, i’m assuming that a couple hundred bucks potentially LOST ’cause ur 2 minutes late will make u on time fo’ sho’.

      Thanks for commenting, Kerr!

      -RAP, II

Leave a Reply

