Cinema Habits

Some of you know how I feel about checking out a “blockbuster” movie at the local theater. If you don’t know, check out a previous post about how HD has totally spoiled me and my movie-going experience. Not only for me, but for my family. But anyway. . . .

With that said, I finally took the time to check out the hit movie The Avengers. I’m not here to do a review of the movie, but that was a DAMN GOOD MOVIE. I loved the action and special FX. I’m here to discuss a habit of mine. I don’t know about you, but watching movies that I thoroughly enjoy leads to a pattern.

1. I decided on purchasing the movie for re-runs at my leisure
2. I research the movie’s composer.

Yeah that’s right, the composer, not the movie writer. Why? Because in my opinion, not only the plot and effects make a good movie, but you have to have an outstanding theatrical score to ENHANCE the scenery. I can’t help feeling this way. I’m a music nerd/dork. I sometimes wonder how my momz put up with me as a kid and teen playing classical or whatever on my sax, then conversely listening to some old rap music or R&B. Band got me listening to music a lil’ differently. I’m sure none of my musical patterns made sense to her. (Lol)

As I was chatting with a friend of mine on Google+ and commenting on her blog post, paying attention to a movie’s score allows for me to get through it differently and easier. Especially if it turns out to be a movie I don’t care for.

Example: Twilight Saga

I could care less about those movies or books, but Carter Burwell’s composition is both beautiful and a driving force in that movie. My favorite song on that album has to be Bella’s Lullaby playable here.

Now take a battling scene from a movie such as The Avengers or maybe even Pirates of the Carribean. Watch a scene like that and imagine it with a different soundtrack or none at all other than the explosions/gun fire. Better yet, I’ll make it easier for you, when a scene like that is on, just close your eyes. Listen to the dialog at hand, the sound of things blowing up or crashing and I bet you’ll notice the crash of a cymbal or a majestic brass section driving the scene. Imagine Pirates of the Carribean with out this song while the ships are firing canons or the swords are clanking? I’ll answer it for ya. . .NO FREAKIN’ WAY.

What are your thoughts on this? Is this how you react after you see a great movie in the theaters? I’m sure the answer is “no.” I’m curious. Hit me up in the comments and feel free to share this post with others.

-RAP, II

4 thoughts on “Cinema Habits

  1. Oh wow, thanks for the reference to my post :-)!

    Now. I agree that the musical score is of great importance in movies today (especially in those big blockbusters) and it’s awesome it turned out that way. The movies wouldn’t be the same without it (I took movie classes couple of years before, and went through the history of moviemaking from the 1800 and forward. Interesting stuff!), now even more than before.

    I think a big part of it is, they’ve realized that the market of that particular music grows very large if the movie is a big hit. Speaking of the great Avengers movie (loved it!) and the great Iron Man ones (aaahhhh!!!!), it’s cool AC/DC gets some attention ~ and cool to get introduced into the younger generation this way. That goes for every music composer/band that have their scores included in soundtracks.

    And I couldn’t agree more regarding the Twilight-movies. I’ve read all the books, and seen the movies that are available. The musical score outweighs the average story, not only Carter Burwell but all the other bands in the soundtrack is awesome! The movies kind of live on the greatness of their soundtrack.

    (As a sidetrack, this is interesting in videogames as well. Linkin Park is one of the bands that does music for an upcoming game, and I discovered The Heavy after playing Borderlands 2 ~ I would never have found them otherwise. I’m looking forward to Halo 4, that score is supposedly to be something amazing)

    I had more in mind, but feel like I’m doing a whole post within a post here…Taking two examples that would be way off worse without the musical score: Star Wars and Superman. Enough said.

    • First off, NO ONE is gonna touch the LEGENDARY John Williams and the London Symphony Orchestra. 🙂 (yeah I have those albums as well)

      And yeah I forgot about video games. Hans Zimmer, who did the Dark Knight score, also did the score for Call of Duty MW2. I can’t remember if he did MW3.

      -RAP, II

  2. I was just listening to an interesting story on NPR about the famous James Bond theme song while I was driving to work this morning. Then was going through my messages from yesterday (I was off yesterday) when, synchronistically enough, I came to your email about movie scores. I agree with you. Most people don’t consciously pay attention to the score from a movie, but it still plays a strong roll in their unconscious feelings about a scene or a movie. I think it sets a tone just as much as lighting in a movie (and most people don’t pay much attention to that crucial aspect in a movie’s tone and feel either).

    Anyway, there are two things that make the Bond theme so great: one is that incredibly ballsy, blasting in your face horn section, the other is the sharp attack of that snaky, surf-guitar part. This story is about that famous guitar part and Vic Flick—the man who got paid a whopping $15 for doing it…

    http://www.npr.org/2012/10/03/161888984/the-sound-of-james-bond-vic-flicks-surf-guitar

Leave a Reply

